Parnells GAA Sponsors


Parnells on Wiki



History of Parnells GAA

Published: 16 December 2013

wikiwikiParnells GAA or Parnells Gaelic Athletic Association club Gaelic football club is a Gaelic Athletic Association club based in Davids BNS Artane DublinIreland. It was founded in 1893 and at that time was known as Parnell Volunteers. Parnells have won the Dublin senior football championship on six occasions, in 1913, 1916, 1939, 1945 and most recently in 1987, 1988.

 Coming of Age

 Within ten years of the club’s foundation Parnell’s had become well established in Dublin GAA circles. Indeed as well as competing in local competitions, the club was now competing and contributing players to Dublin as well.

The Dublin Senior football Team winners of the Croke Cup 1897, featuring Joe Teeling of Parnell’s
The Dublin Senior Football team of 1902 included three Parnell’s players.
Parnell’s won the final of the Wolfe Tone Tournament in 1903 against Clane. The same team won the Kiltiernan and Malahide Tournaments.
In 1907-08 Parnell’s were the winners of the Junior Football Championship, The Intermediate League and the Martyn Cup.
The Dublin Junior Football Team (Parnell’s Selection) won the Leinster Championship in 1908.
Parnell’s won the Senior Football Championship in 1913 and 1916.
The Parnell’s Junior Team 1916-1917 won the North County League, and were runners-up in the Junior Championship.
Parnell’s had two players in the all Ireland Final in 1920.
Parnell’s Minor Team 1919–1920 were winners of the Dublin League.
Parnell's in 1924 were winners of the North County League

The Easter Rising

Parnell members that took part in the Easter Rising 1916 were Peader Christie, Owen McDermot, John Joyce, Patrick Lanigan of Artane and Thomas Reilly, John Brien of Donnycarney and Martin Mullen fought in Jacobs. Edmund Boland of Marino and Martin Savage of Co Sligo fought in the GPO. Peter Coates and Charles Kenny of North Strand fought in Stephens Green and Boland’s Mills.
In July 1916 three Parnell’s men - Peader Christie, Owen McDermot and John Joyce played on a Dublin selection against Wexford prisoners. Shortly afterwards some of the prisoners were released including men who were to help Parnell’s win their second Senior Football Championship.

The Golden Jubilee (1934)

Parnells 1938 - Winners Senior League Division IIParnells 1938 - Winners Senior League Division II, Back Row:WR Quinn(secretary) J.Gibbons, M. McCann, Padraig Toolan, E. Boland, D. Quinn, P. O'Connor, J. Flood. Middle row: J. Hunt, W. Brien, B. Quinn, J. Teeling(capt.), P. Kilbride, R. McCann, P. Deegan. Front Row: T. Mahady, P. Power
During 1934 GAA members celebrated the Golden Jubilee of the foundation of the association. All clubs were urged to organise their own celebrations during the course of the year.
Unfortunately for Parnell’s their senior footballers fared badly in league matches in the first few months of the year. Matters improved somewhat when they defeated Dolphins in the first round of the championship. Success was short lived unfortunately. On 20 May 1934 at Croke Park they were beaten 2-4 to 1-6 in the quarter final.
The following year, 1935, the senior footballers lost the first round of the Championship when they were defeated 1-6 to 0-1 by Garda, the eventual winners. Corner Forward Jim Brady of Parnell's was a member of the Dublin Senior Football team beaten by Louth in the 1935 Leinster Championship. The following year did not bring any relief to the club: Nevertheless the Officials, Selectors and players struggled on manfully in the hope of better times ahead.
During 1937 the club did not enter the junior league or the Championship but concentrated on the Minor and Senior Level. In the first round of the Senior Championship Parnell’s were drawn against Sean Mc Dermott’s. Their first encounter ended in a draw but Sean Mc Dermott’s went on to win the replay with ease.
In 1938 Parnell’s won the Second Division of the senior Football League. The team was strengthened by the inclusion of ex-St Vincent’s minors including Brendan Quinn, Johnny Gibbons, Tom McCann, Pádraig Toolan, Ned Boland, Albert Farrell, Mick Delaney, George Ingham, Robert Hurley, Andy Hanratty and Frank Moore. They met Dolphins in the final of Division II and defeated them by 2-7 to 0-1.
The victories of 1938 paved the way for even greater feats in the memorable year of 1939.


Parnells GAA

Coolock Village,
Dublin 5.

Tel: 01 848 1283

How to Find Us

Club Membership

Your Club Membershipcan be registered and paid online here by Credit Card,
Debit Card (such as Laser) or by Cheque.

Parnells Societies

The Chanel

the chanel